What is the ESN Academy?

ESN Academy, arranged annually in June, engages 80 ESNers from the 40 member countries, and introduces them to a learning cycle made of workshops based on non-formal education methods. A wide range of workshops in a variety of fields and topics, conducted by members of the different Eduk8 pools, are held during four days. The participants will be able to choose and customize their own schedule from the available workshops, and therefore create their own unique learning experience. The event is a great opportunity to get a taste of what you can learn during the seasonal ESN trainings.

Every year the ESN Academy has a main topic, around which most of the workshops revolve around. The main topic for this year's ESN Academy is:
Social inclusion: What can we (ESN) do about it?"
Therefore, most of the workshops will focus on developing skills on our volunteers that can be used to promote a more inclusive Europe, with a special focus on the 3 sub-topics of 
disability, gender and migrants.
Example topics on workshops include: How to design inclusive activities, gender perspective within my section, intercultural communication, etc.

This year's edition of Academy will take place in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, where we are welcomed by an  organising  committee with members from ESN BiH and ESN Sarajevo. 
Sarajevo has a very rich cultural and religious history, and is the only major city in Europe to host a mosque, Catholic church, Orthodox church and a synagogue all located in the same neighborhood - what could be a better location for hosting an event emphasizing inclusion in Europe!  

How to apply?

The registration period is open between 18th of March to the 7th of April 2017 or until all spots are taken HERE. The acceptance of spots will be on a "First come first served" system and done on a rolling basis.

Would you have any questions about ESN Academy, please don't hesitate to contact:


The Vice President at [email protected] 
The Eduk8 project team at [email protected]
The head of the Organising Committee (Lana Beciragic) at [email protected]